开放计算项目

开放计算项目由Facebook于2011年创建,为构建高能效和可扩展的高性能Web 2.0数据中心提供规范。这些努力的结果是从头开始设计和构建的下一代计算基础架构,与传统数据中心相比,其价格可降低多达24%,能效可提高多达38%。作为领先的OCP贡献者,Mellanox通过为端到端网络结构提供开放式可组合网络(Open Composable Network),满足这些新型数据中心的苛刻需求,具有无与伦比的开放式架构特性与10/25 Gbps和40/50/100Gbps的成熟可靠性能。

首选互联解决方案,最大程度提高生产力与投资回报率
对于网络处理,通常有两种可能的选择:使用昂贵的CPU资源来运行复杂的网络协议(Onload——带载),或者将这些任务卸载到智能网络网卡,使CPU能够专注于应用程序处理。有了Mellanox,选择变得一目了然:卸载在提高应用程序效率和降低数据中心资本支出与运营支出方面完全胜过带载。Mellanox网卡是多个OCP平台的默认选择,包括Facebook Yosemite、Leopard和基于OpenPower的Rackspace Barreleye。此外,Mellanox交换机具有一致性、低延迟和零丢包率优势,可为存储和计算基础架构提供云规模效率和最高的ROI。

借助分解技术发挥创新
Mellanox Multi-HostTM技术可将多个计算或存储主机连接到一个互联网卡,同时使每个主机保持完全相互独立,并且拥有专用的服务质量(QoS)和主机管理通道。它可以帮助设计和构建新型Scale Out异构计算和存储机架,在计算元件、存储元件和网络之间保持直接连接。这项创新技术可帮助实现诸如Yosemite的分解式服务器平台,Yosemite可为Facebook的前端服务器提供最高的能源效率。Multi-Host(多主机)还支持异构数据中心架构,连接到同一个网卡的主机可以是x86、Power、Arm、GPU和FPGA,从而消除这些计算元件之间的任何数据传输瓶颈。

助力具有云规模敏捷性的开放平台
多年以来,网络供应商一直锁定自己的专有平台,为应用程序提供很少的灵活性,甚至根本没有灵活性。能够不受供应商锁定的限制,对于跟上云规模IT的创新步伐至关重要,特别是在Web2.0和Telco基础架构中。Mellanox开放式以太网Spectrum平台使客户能够独立选择最好的硬件和最好的软件,并且支持多种网络操作系统选项,包括Microsoft SONiC、Cumulus Linux、Metaswitch以及Mellanox自己的Mellanox Onyx——面向Spectrum开放式以太网交换机的下一代网络操作系统。这样可以提高各个层次的效率,同时为客户提供灵活性和选择性优势。Mellanox还为端到端网络结构的开放计算项目做出了重大贡献。

The Open Compute Project

Founded by Facebook in 2011, the Open Compute Project, provides specifications for building energy-efficient and scalable high-performance Web 2.0 data centers. The results of these efforts are next-generation computing infrastructure designed and built from ground up that are up to 24% less expensive and 38% more energy efficient than traditional datacenters. Mellanox, a leading contributor in the OCP, addresses the demanding needs of these newer data centers by providing an Open Composable Network for end-to-end network fabric with unmatched features for open architecture and proven, reliable performance at 10/25 and 40/50/100Gbps.

Maximizing Productivity with Highest Return on Investment
There are two possible options when it comes to network processing: consume expensive CPU resources to run sophisticated network protocol (Onload), or offload these tasks to an intelligent network adapter and allow the CPU to focus on application processing. With Mellanox the choice becomes clear: Offloading beats onloading in improving application efficiency and reducing CAPEX and OPEX of the datacenter. Mellanox adapters are the default choice in several OCP platforms including Facebook Yosemite, Leopard and OpenPower-based Rackspace Barreleye. Furthermore, Mellanox switches feature consistent, low-latency and zero-packet loss delivering cloud scale efficiency and highest ROI for storage and computing infrastructure.

Unleashing Innovation with Disaggregation Technology
Mellanox Multi-HostTM technology enables connecting multiple compute or storage hosts into a single interconnect adapter, while keeping each host completely independent from the others with dedicated Quality of Service (QoS) and host management channels. It enables designing and building new scale-out heterogeneous compute and storage racks with direct connectivity between compute elements, storage elements and the network. This innovative technology enables disaggregated server platforms like Yosemite that powers Facebook’s front-end servers with highest energy efficiency. Multi-Host also supports a heterogeneous data center architecture; hosts connected to the single adapter can be x86, Power, ARM, GPU and FPGA, thereby removing any bottleneck in data transfer across these compute elements.

Enabling Open Platform with Cloud-scale Agility
For years, networking vendors have locked down their proprietary platforms, providing little to no flexibility to the application. Freedom from vendor lock-in is central to achieving innovation at the pace of Cloud-Scale IT, especially in Web2.0 and Telco infrastructure. Mellanox Open-Ethernet Spectrum platforms enable customers to independently choose the best hardware and the best software with support for multiple Network OS options including Microsoft SONiC, Cumulus Linux, Metaswitch and Mellanox’s own MLNX-OS. This brings efficiency at every level and customers benefit by achieving flexibility and choice. Mellanox has also made significant contributions to the Open Compute Project for end-to-end network fabrics.